OPEN LETTER TO OKAY FM

 

OKAY,

FRIST OF ALL…NO, EVERYTHING IS NOT OKAY…!!

I have had to ‘overhear’ you almost every morning on my way to work with my nephews and niece in the backseat, mostly up to one mischief or another, but still very much attentive, though you may think they aren’t. I ‘overhear’ because actually, most of the time I am not listening. Yes. I stopped. For a number of reasons, and because I’d much rather read.

 

(Takes in deep breath)

 

Now, I respect Osei Kwame Despite very much…senior man! Top, top guy! And I believe the masses appreciate these local-language-speaking stations, me included. But! I have a few problems with some of these stations, and you happen to be one of them. This is to point them out, and hopefully make some difference.

 

My number one heartbreak is when one of your presenters (a guy), unfortunately I do not remember his name, mentioned the book “The Palmwine Drinkard” and went on to mention Ola Rotimi as the author of this book. He did not just mention this in passing, which would still have been near unpardonable, but talked about it, sounding very much like he was dead sure what he was talking about. Okay…trust me, I did my best to get your number that day…I really would have called into the studio. No. Ola Rotimi is not the author of “The Palmwine Drinkard”…Amos Tutuola is, and I will very much appreciate it if you made that correction, as soon as possible. If not for anything, my nephews, and niece were in the car with me that day…and they heard this lie, along with many other students and others who listen to you every morning. Please, kindly, make that correction on air. I was happy however, that this presenter went on to talk about Ama Ata Aidoo’s “Cut me a drink,” which was on point. But Rotimi? Noooo please, it is Tutuola! YOU CANNOT TAKE MY TUTUOLA’S CREDIT FROM HIM LIKE THAT!

 

Secondly, there is a section you have right after your newspaper review, for married couples, where you talk about sex. I do not have any problem with the topic(s) being discussed, but I do have a problem with the time it is discussed, and how it is discussed. Every single time this is done, it is not handled professionally – straight to the point, with the right choice of words. It is said with all sorts of gimmicks and unnecessary additions, sometimes acting out some of what you say with moans, and…wow…and most of the time, the driver has to quickly turn it off! Is it really necessary? That you have that feature at that time of the day? And again do you really find it appropriate, how you handle it?

 

Going off on professionalism, I was very disappointed in how you handled your reviews on the news items covering issues surrounding the announcement of the TV Licencing that will be happening soon. This is a newspaper review you are doing, not a show meant to ridicule. Any time you picked this news item, it turned into an AD for UTV! We are well aware of your bias, Okay FM, but for the sake of professionalism, these biases must be laid aside, and newspaper reviews handled in that light! You could pause and just burst out laughing for minutes! IN THE MIDDLE OF SOMETHING THAT IS SUPPOSED TO BE SERIOUS! A NEWSPAPER REVIEW!! Making comparisons, bullshitting others, praising yours…ah…come on! That is disappointing!

 

Then there are your interviews. I do not know if you have not realized this yet, but a lot of the time, you call someone in for a particular reason, you ask the necessary question, person completely deviates from the point, and you not only let the person, you forget what you wanted to find out because you find what the person is saying too juicy, and so you go on to ask further questions down this missed lane! The call ends without the person answering the original question. I really wish I could cite examples, but I did not take note of them and so cannot. I believe however that if you are honest, you will see what I am saying truly does happen. In my opinion, you call too many people over one issue, I am tempted to conclude you really just have ears that are too itchy for your own good.

 

Still on interviews, the last straw for me was the day you called Akua Donkor, and allowed her speak like she did…please, you know the particular interview I am referring to. Someone had mentioned that Madam Donkor sometime past, had been involved in some fraudulent deals which landed her behind bars, and you called to seek her response to it. From the very first word she uttered, to the last, insults punctuated with insults. Yes, our political scene in Ghana now is exactly that – Insults. But what do we do about it? What can you, Okay FM, do about it? You kept this woman on air, throughout, allowed her to say all she was saying, then went ahead to discuss it and laugh about it! I mean…this can be stopped by you cutting this person off…you cannot use such language, dear Leader, and you especially cannot use it on our platform! But no, you handle it unfortunately like you enjoy it…it is all fun and games! WHY?!

 

It is good to be light-hearted, but you people really manage to overdo it every day! Not a single day is spared.  I am sure if I paid more attention to you every morning, there’d be more displeasures, but as I said, I am mostly reading, and not minding the radio, but I can’t help catching some of these things.

 

I hope this letter gets to you, and is addressed, and I hope to notice some desirable changes. Nevertheless, I had to write this and I’m glad I have.

 

Yours Sincerely,

An Accidental Listener,

Amma Konadu Anarfi.

 

P.S.  For days I had to endure you pronouncing this name – ‘Gregory’ [GREH-gur-ree] as ‘gree-gory’! Dayyyysss!!

2 thoughts on “OPEN LETTER TO OKAY FM

  1. And we have a National Media Commission which is supposed to check such misbehavior- the morning sex talk. I don’t listen to radio politics though.
    Good post. Solid

    Like

  2. Amma!! Say it again!!!! These twi stations just mislead the public all the time! And they are so full of themselves while at it. I could hear the pride in his voice when he said ” The palm wine drinkard by Ola Rotimi! And I was just like ‘Dahell!’ Smh. They don’t cross check their facts and they know very well no one will hold them accountable, after all, their listeners don’t know…

    Like

Leave a comment